Why GoogleDocs?

I have been using MSOffice since I knew computers. And have a love-hate relationship with it for that long too. Hate cos it slowed down my PC. Love cos its so feature-rich. And then the slow bit became so irritating, I moved to Notepad. Loved it and Love it even now, however miss the formatting. So, I started using Outlook Express, as my word editor. After all, I was used to sending out emails with it.
A few days later, I earned an invite to Gmail. And it changed quite a few things. Including getting used to the Auto-Save a-la MS Office. For quite some time now I use ‘TextEdit’/’MSOffice’ on Mac, its a lot better than on a Windows OS, and ‘Notepad’ and ‘Gmail’. Then came GoogleDocs. And, good gracious, now sharing, opening and viewing attachments was GoogleDocs job.
What I missed was the ‘Etherpad’ way of community editing. Great tool for collaboration, I should admit. As they quote “EtherPad is the only web-based word processor that allows people to work together in really real-time.
When multiple people edit the same document simultaneously, any changes are instantly reflected on everyone’s screen. The result is a new and productive way to collaborate on text documents, useful for meeting notes, drafting sessions, education, team programming, and more.”
I liked it. And soon I read “On April 14th, new pad creation will be disabled.” So as of yesterday, I lost any opportunity to create a New Etherpad. :(

The Internet aint a bad world, after all. What do I see, Voila, our own GoogleDocs integrates the Etherpad style editting. So my respect for GoogleDocs got higher overnight. :)

You sure got to read this to know why GoogleDocs.
And while you are at it, just add a few lines of how you liked this post in the Comments. :)

Published on 15 April 2010

Leave a Reply

